UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021Fact Checked

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit


Not required, but recommended


Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Unlimited on medical, primary or excess by plan

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required

Property Protection (PPI)

$1,000,000 limit

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Michigan AVG.

source: www.iii.org



Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:


All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Level 1 or 2 License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Michigan, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws


The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.17 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Michigan, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 30-150 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 45 days. Refusal to submit to chemical test also results in administrative license suspension.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Michigan made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for high BAC offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened or unsealed in the passenger area of the car. However, open containers of alcohol may be transported in the trunk of a vehicle, a locked glove compartment, or in the area behind the last upright seat or an area not usually occupied by the driver or passenger in a vehicle without a trunk.

Graduated Drivers License


Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years and nine months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 21

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 5am and cannot drive with with more than one passenger under the age of 21.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Michigan drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit



Rural Interstates:

70 MPH
60 MPH

Urban Interstates:

70 MPH
60 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

70 MPH
60 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Department of Insurance

Website: www.michigan.gov/difs
Address:  611 West Ottawa Street, 3rd Floor, Lansing, Michigan 48933
Phone: 517-373-0220 or 877-999-6442 (Toll-Free)
Call Center Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST)

DMV Information

Website:  www.michigan.gov/sos
Phone:  888-SOS-MICH (888-767-6424)
Call Center Hours:
 Monday through Friday 8:30 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption