Mississippi

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021Fact Checked

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Mississippi AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

No.

Texting Ban:

In Mississippi, text messaging is banned for bus drivers and drivers with a Learner or Provisional License.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

None for Mississippi.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Mississippi, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Mississippi made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

None for Mississippi.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, there are no required supervised driver hours for Mississippi learner stage drivers.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-6am (Sun. - Thurs.), 1130pm-6am (Fri. - Sat.)
Passenger Restriction: None

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 6am Sunday through Thursday and 1130pm and 6am Friday through Saturday. There are no passenger restrictions for Mississippi intermediate drivers.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and six months, Mississippi drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Mississippi
Department of Insurance

Website: www.mid.ms.gov/
Address: 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 North West Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-3569 or 800-562-2957 (In State)

Mississippi
DMV Information

Website: www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/
Phone:  601-987-1212

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

stage