State Auto Insurance Review: Should you buy in 2023?

The average State Auto car insurance quotes are about $58 a month for minimum insurance and around $171 for full coverage, but its unique coverage options might be worth it.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked
3.4
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Convenient insurance packages, which bundle several types of coverage
  • Unique add-ons that are hard to find elsewhere, such as personal effects insurance
  • Customers have plenty of discount options to take advantage of
  • Offers usage-based car insurance with Safety 360

Cons

  • Higher-than-average monthly rates
  • Only available in 33 states
  • Customer service ratings aren’t as high as some of its competitors
  • Some coverage options are only available in packages

The Bottom Line

Although not as well-known as more prominent companies, State Auto Insurance offers unique coverage options, convenient packages, and opportunities to save. Liberty Mutual recently purchased the company, but State Auto still manages its policies in 33 states.

Drivers looking for the most affordable coverage probably won’t find it at State Auto, although the company has reasonable rates after a DUI. While State Auto doesn’t sell the cheapest auto insurance, many customers say the price is worth it for the excellent coverage.

Read on to learn more about State Auto car insurance and whether the higher rates might be worth it. Then, compare rates with as many companies as possible to determine where to buy auto insurance.

State Auto isn’t the cheapest option for car insurance, so it’s not the best choice for drivers trying to stay on a budget. However, State Auto’s unique coverage options and convenient packages might make it a good choice if you don’t mind spending a little extra.

Although State Auto has good insurance choices, the expensive rates mean you should compare your options. If you don’t look at what other companies have to offer, you’ll probably overpay.

Get free auto insurance quotes today with our comparison tool below. Enter your ZIP code to compare Safe Auto to local companies in your area.

Is State Auto Insurance Companies a Good Choice?

State Auto Insurance reviews state that its customer service isn’t the best, but most people report overall satisfaction.

A great place to start looking for insurance company reviews is third-party rating companies. For example, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates companies by the number of complaints they receive compared to their size. The national average is 1.0 — anything lower means the company receives fewer complaints than average.

State Auto has a 1.60, which means it receives a few more complaints than companies of a similar size.

Another crucial rating comes from A.M. Best. A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength. Higher ratings indicate that the company is financially stable and can pay future claims without hesitation. State Auto has maintained an excellent rating but was recently downgraded to an A-.

Finally, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) looks at how well companies resolve customer issues. The BBB gives State Auto an A+, but more than a hundred complaints have been filed on the site. BBB reviewers state a low level of satisfaction with customer service.

State Auto Insurance Companies Rates

The main selling point for State Auto insurance is the variety of options, some of which are difficult or impossible to find elsewhere. Although Protection Plus or AutoXtended Premier packages offer excellent coverage, State Auto insurance quotes are generally higher than other companies.

Before you decide if State Auto’s extra coverage is worth it, you should compare rates with other companies. You can check how State Auto compares to other companies below, but remember that your rates will change based on your unique circumstances.

State Auto Minimum Insurance Rates

Most states require a minimum amount of auto insurance before you can drive or register your car. All states with minimum coverage laws require liability insurance, while many others require uninsured motorist or personal injury protection.

Minimum insurance is your cheapest option, no matter how much insurance your state requires. Minimum insurance is your best bet if you have an older, less valuable car or need to stick to a budget.

However, there can be significant variation between companies. Check below to see what the average driver pays for minimum insurance from the top companies:

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
State Farm$40
Geico$50
Travelers$53
Nationwide$61
American Family$66
Progressive$69
Farmers$76
Allstate$87
Liberty Mutual$90
National Average$69
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto customers pay about 22% more for minimum insurance than the national average. These rates are significantly higher than cheaper companies like Progressive and State Farm.

Minimum insurance is cheaper, but it comes with the financial risk of paying for your own car repairs and medical bills out of pocket. An additional risk is hitting your policy limits before all damages are covered. If that happens, you’ll have to pay the rest.

State Auto Full Coverage Rates

State law never requires full coverage auto insurance, but loan lenders often require it when you finance a new car. It’s also useful for people with new or valuable cars or those who can’t afford to replace or repair their cars after an incident.

As you saw above, full coverage includes several types of insurance, including liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection. Although it doesn’t cover every inch of your car, it offers relatively complete protection against most of what life can throw at you.

Full coverage costs more than minimum insurance, and State Auto is once again a more expensive option. Check below to see how State Auto compares with its competition.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Geico$80
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Progressive$105
Nationwide$115
American Family$116
Farmers$138
Allstate$160
Liberty Mutual$173
National Average$119
Get Your Rates Quote Now

At 27% more expensive than the national average, State Auto is certainly not the cheapest option on the market. However, it is more affordable than a few options, including Allstate.

State Auto Insurance Rates by Age

There are a variety of factors that insurance companies look at to determine your rates. One with a huge impact is your age. Young drivers see some of the highest auto insurance rates, with quotes sometimes being three times what older adults pay.

Check State Auto average auto insurance rates by age to get an idea of how much you might pay for insurance:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
18 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$519$390$603$254$633$387$662$284$729 $496
18 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$448$288$573$220$528$303$591$229$523$411
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$177$129$160$87$198$139$136$103$106$137
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$168$109$154$90$173$127$131$94$98$127
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$160$110$133$80$172$115$195$86$97$118
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$162$109$134$80$170$113$112$86$96$118
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$152$104$126$76$163$109$100$82$92$112
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$153$103$127$76$161$107$106$82$91$112
65 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$157$108$130$78$169$112$102$84$95$115
65 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$157$106$130$78$169$112$109$84$95$115
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Like most companies, State Auto rates vary significantly between age groups. The average teen will pay 27% more for insurance than the national average, while the average adult sees rates only 7% higher.

There are a few reasons young drivers pay so much for insurance, but it all comes down to financial risk for companies. Young drivers are more likely to drive distracted, get into accidents, and engage in other reckless driving behaviors. The increased likelihood that teens will file claims is the most significant reason they pay more for insurance.

Teen drivers pay more for insurance, but they don’t have to worry about high rates forever. As long as they keep their driving record clean, their rates will start to decrease when they turn 25.

State Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

All driving violations will increase your insurance rates, including speeding tickets. As one of the most common traffic violations in the U.S., thousands of drivers see their rates increase after even a minor infraction.

While some companies are relatively forgiving of speeding tickets, the average driver pays about $41 more per month at State Auto than at other companies. Consider the following rates after a speeding ticket to get an idea of what you might pay at State Auto.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$108$91
Geico$132$82
Travelers$144$107
Nationwide$156$120
American Family$180$116
Progressive$192$109
Farmers$204$140
Allstate$228$166
Liberty Mutual$240$177
National Average$156$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If you’re interested in keeping your insurance rates low after a speeding ticket, companies like Progressive, Geico, and State Farm are usually better options. However, you can protect yourself from a rate increase with State Auto if you purchase accident forgiveness.

It takes about three years for your rates to return to normal after a speeding ticket, and you’ll likely see even higher rates if you get additional infractions during those three years. You may even need high-risk auto insurance.

State Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident

Insurance companies carefully examine your driving record for at-fault accidents because of the risk they pose for future claims. Statistically, a driver with one at-fault accident is more likely to cause another.

At-fault accidents can increase your rates by about 50%, though the exact amount depends on your state. If you have multiple at-fault accidents, you’ll see even higher spikes in your insurance rates. Some companies might even drop you as a customer if you have too many accidents on your record.

Once again, State Auto does not offer the cheapest rates. Compare how State Auto rates look after an at-fault accident with other companies:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies After an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$107$91
Geico$132$82
Travelers$157$107
Nationwide$165$120
American Family$166$116
Progressive$190$109
Farmers$198$140
Liberty Mutual$236$177
Allstate$237$166
National Average$176$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Unfortunately for State Auto customers, it has some of the most expensive rates after an at-fault accident. Only Allstate’s car insurance rates are more expensive.

Similarly to speeding tickets, at-fault accidents fall off your insurance record in about three years. As long as you don’t add more cause for concern, your coverage will eventually return to normal. Find out how auto insurance rates can change after an accident.

State Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Although even minor incidents will affect your rates, nothing has as big an impact as a DUI. Not only will you see higher insurance rates, but you’ll also face legal fees, license suspension, and possibly jail after a DUI.

Although State Auto is often far more expensive than other companies, it has slightly lower rates after a DUI. Compare State Auto’s rates after a DUI with other companies below:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$124$91
Progressive$146$109
American Family$177$116
Farmers$191$140
Geico$213$82
Travelers$230$107
Nationwide$252$120
Allstate$303$166
Liberty Mutual$325$177
National Average$218$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto might not have the lowest rates, but it’s only 2% higher than the national average. For once, State Auto has more affordable rates than competitors, including Nationwide, Geico, and Allstate.

Insurance rates can be prohibitively expensive after a DUI, so it’s important to compare your options. If rates at standard companies are too high, you should consider shopping with a high-risk insurance company specializing in coverage after a DUI.

Your rates can double or triple after a single DUI charge, but some companies are less harsh than others. Even if you already have a policy, you should always compare new quotes after getting a DUI charge. Skipping this crucial step can lead to overpaying thousands of dollars for car insurance.

Like other traffic violations, you won’t be stuck paying high prices forever. However, having a DUI on your record will affect your car insurance rates for about seven years. Learn how to get auto insurance after a DUI.

State Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers With Low Credit Scores

Your credit score affects your insurance rates for two reasons. First, people with higher scores tend to pay their monthly bills on time. The second is that people with low credit scores file more claims.

When you have a lower credit score, you can pay up to $100 more per month for your insurance than people with higher scores.

Many companies are hesitant to insure drivers with low credit scores, but a few are more forgiving. Check below to see if State Auto is one of the more forgiving companies:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Geocp$148$100$82
Nationwide$165$132$120
Travelers$194$127$107
State Farm$200$117$90
American Family$203$136$116
Progressive$206$137$109
Farmers$269$161$139
Allstate$296$196$166
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
National Average$226$148$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto is still on the high side, but its average rates for low credit scores are only 7% higher than the national average. Companies like Geico, Farmers, and Progressive are cheaper choices if your credit isn’t as high as it could be.

Although it takes time and effort, you can lower your insurance rates by improving your credit score. Find out how to buy cheap auto insurance for drivers with bad credit.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto Insurance Companies Discounts Available

Most insurance companies offer discounts to help people lower their rates. A company’s available discounts should be one of the things you consider when researching your insurance options.

Smaller companies often struggle to match the discount lists of larger companies, but State Auto doesn’t have that problem. State Auto offers the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Bundling. State Auto offers a variety of insurance policies to meet nearly every need. You’ll earn this discount if you buy a homeowners or umbrella policy with your car insurance.
  • Mutli-car. Households with more than one vehicle can earn a discount if they include more than one car in their policy.
  • Anti-theft devices. State Auto will give you a discount on your comprehensive car insurance if your vehicle comes with or you install anti-theft devices.
  • Paid in full. If you pay for your entire six-month policy at once rather than in monthly increments, State Auto will give you a small discount.
  • Start-up. You can earn this discount when you’re a new customer with a pre-existing policy with another company. You must have had your pre-existing policy for at least six months to qualify.
  • Driver education. Drivers under the age of 21 can earn a discount by taking a driver education course. The course must be on the approved State Auto course list to qualify.
  • Defensive driver. State Auto rewards drivers who pass an accident prevention course with a small discount. You must be 21 or younger to qualify.
  • Good student. Full-time students under 21 who maintain a 3.0 GPA can see significant savings.
  • Student away. State Auto offers reduced rates for students who plan to attend college more than 100 miles from their home address. You can only earn this discount if you leave your car at home.
  • Defensive driver. Earn this discount by completing an accident prevention course. Only drivers under 21 are eligible.

State Auto also offers a usage-based insurance program called Safety 360. Safety 360 rewards drivers for safe driving habits, such as obeying speed limits and driving during the day.

You can save up to 50% on your car insurance if you regularly practice safe habits, but this plan is not ideal if you don’t. Safety 360 is one of the few plans that penalize drivers for bad driving habits.

State Auto Insurance Companies Coverage Options

Liberty Mutual owns State Auto, but the two companies do not sell the same types of insurance. If you’re interested in one of State Auto’s unique insurance packages, you won’t be able to buy one from Liberty Mutual.

State Auto sells enough coverage to meet the two basic types of insurance most drivers need. State Auto operates in 33 states, most of which require at least liability auto insurance before you can drive or register your car.

The other type of insurance is full coverage, which is never required by law but is usually necessary when you have a car loan or lease. Even if you don’t need full coverage, it’s still a good idea if your car is newer or valuable.

Whatever the amount of coverage you want to buy, State Auto can cover you with the following:

  • Bodily injury liability. Bodily injury liability covers injuries you cause to other drivers, their passengers, and pedestrians. It does not cover your medical bills.
  • Property damage liability. As the other half of liability coverage, this insurance covers damage you cause to other people’s property, including cars and buildings.
  • Collision auto insurance. Collision insurance pays for your car repairs after an accident, no matter who was at fault. It also covers you if you hit a stationary object, like a tree.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance. For unexpected events, you need comprehensive insurance. Comprehensive covers damage from fire, theft, animal contact, extreme weather, vandalism, and floods.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Even though most states require insurance, not all drivers follow the law. Uninsured motorist insurance covers you if you’re hit by a driver without adequate coverage.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). PIP will cover your and your passengers’ medical bills after an accident, as well as lost wages and more if you’re unable to work as you recover.
  • Medical payments coverage (MedPay). MedPay also pays for medical bills and rehabilitation costs, but it does not offer the same extent of coverage as PIP. Depending on your policy, it might cover you when you’re a passenger in someone else’s car.

Minimum insurance is your cheapest option for coverage, but the amount you need depends on your state. Most states require liability insurance, while many also include personal injury protection or uninsured motorist coverage.

Full coverage includes everything listed above. It costs more, but it offers much better protection for your vehicle.

No matter your situation, a State Auto representative can tell you exactly how much auto insurance you need based on how much is required in your state.

Does State Auto offer car insurance add-ons?

State Auto offers a few add-ons you can buy to increase the value of your policy and the protection of your car. State Auto offers the following add-ons:

  • Rideshare auto insurance. You can’t rely on your personal insurance if you work for a rideshare company. Uber and Lyft provide insurance for their drivers, but it has gaps in coverage. State Auto’s rideshare insurance fills in those gaps.
  • Auto replacement cost. If your car is under two years old, State Auto will pay to replace it with a new model instead of its depreciated value.
  • Total loss plus. If your car is older than two years, this add-on will replace your vehicle with a model one year newer. If that’s not possible, State Auto will pay you 120% of your vehicle’s total value.

State Auto doesn’t have the longest list of add-ons, but the few available options provide valuable coverage. Make sure you only add extra coverage you think you need — add-ons can significantly raise your rates.

What are State Auto insurance packages?

When you buy minimum or full coverage, you can choose which insurance you want to include in your policy. Unlike many other insurance companies, State Auto offers convenient packages that bundle various coverage options.

There are three insurance packages to choose from:

  • Standard
  • Protection Plus
  • AutoXtended Premier

All packages include basic insurance options like liability and comprehensive insurance, as well as $100 in roadside assistance.

The standard package includes nothing else beyond basic insurance and roadside assistance. If you choose the Protection Plus or AutoXtended Premier plans, you can add the following to your policy:

  • Accident forgiveness. State Auto will forgive your first accident or minor traffic incident if you’ve been claims-free for a certain amount of time. The length you need to be claims-free varies by state.
  • Safety glass. If your windshield or other glass is damaged outside of an accident, State Auto will pay for repairs.
  • Total disability. If you become disabled after a car accident, State Auto will cover your wages.
  • Attorney fees. If you’re arrested after causing an accident, your policy will cover any costs associated with your legal defense.
  • Bail bonds. As additional protection, State Auto will cover any bonds set for your release if you’re arrested after an accident.
  • Rented vehicle. This endorsement pays for rental cars if you need a temporary ride after a covered incident. It also handles repairs if you damage your rental car.
  • Death indemnity. If you die in a car accident, this add-on acts as a life insurance policy, and State Auto will pay a beneficiary of your choice.
  • GPS coverage. State Auto will repair or replace your GPS if it’s damaged in an accident.
  • Customized equipment. Standard insurance only covers the original parts in your car. If you’ve modified your vehicle with custom equipment, this add-on covers them.
  • Cell phone coverage. State Auto will pay up to $500 to repair or replace your cell phone if it’s damaged or destroyed in an accident.
  • Locksmith services. You can get up to $250 in locksmith services covered if your keys are lost, damaged, or stolen.
  • Pet coverage. State Auto covers up to $500 in veterinarian services if your pet is hurt in a covered accident.
  • Emergency ambulance. With ambulance rides costing thousands of dollars, State Auto will pay up to $10,000 to get you to the hospital after an accident.

The difference between the Protection and AutoXtended plans is the amount of coverage in each add-on.

The AutoXtended plan comes with higher limits, giving you better coverage. For example, the emergency ambulance add-on covers ups to $25,000 with the AutoXtended package.

What other types of insurance does State Auto sell?

State Auto’s most popular product is car insurance, but you can also buy the following types of insurance:

  • Condo
  • Boat and yacht
  • Business
  • Renters
  • Umbrella
  • Farm and ranch

Like its car insurance, State Auto also offers three homeowners packages. Each package contains the basic types of home insurance, including dwelling, detached physical structures, personal belongings, and liability coverage.

The most basic package is the Standard plan, which includes identity theft protection with traditional home coverage. It also adds replacement costs, which pay to replace your personal belongings with new items rather than the depreciated value.

The Protection Plus plan includes everything from Standard, as well as locksmith services, golf cart rentals, and up to $1,000 coverage for freezer contents.

The most comprehensive plan State Auto offers is the Premier package, which includes:

  • $500 to replace or repair GPS equipment and cell phones
  • Fire extinguisher recharge fees
  • $10,000 of identity theft recovery services
  • $5,000 worth of coverage for equipment you use for a home business
  • Mortgage expense coverage, which covers fees associated with a new mortgage
  • Computer records coverage, which helps restore corrupted data
  • Volunteer coverage, in case you’re sued for actions you performed as a volunteer
  • Valuable items coverage for personal effects in your home, including furs, art, and jewelry
  • False alarm coverage, in case the fire or police department responds to a false alarm

Like car insurance, you’ll pay more for better packages, but the coverage might be worth it. If you’re not sure how much home insurance you need, speak with a State Auto representative.

Find State Auto Insurance Quotes Today

State Auto isn’t the cheapest option for car insurance, so it’s not the best choice for drivers trying to stay on a budget. However, State Auto’s unique coverage options and convenient packages might make it a good choice if you don’t mind spending a little extra.

Although State Auto has good insurance choices, the expensive rates mean you should compare your options. If you don’t look at what other companies have to offer, you’ll probably overpay.

Get free auto insurance quotes today with our comparison tool below. Enter your ZIP code to compare Safe Auto to local companies in your area.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you get a quote from State Auto Insurance?

State Auto currently has no online option to start an insurance quote. You can contact a representative by phone or go in person to an office.

How can you start a claim with State Auto?

You can’t start a quote online, but State Auto allows customers to begin claims online. You can also call a representative to get help with your claim. No matter your choice, you’ll need your policy number and details of the incident to file a claim.

Who owns State Auto Insurance?

Liberty Mutual bought State Auto Insurance in July of 2021. Despite new ownership, State Auto continues to write its own policies and manage its customers.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for State Auto Insurance Companies

3.41 (175 reviews)
1
June 28, 2022

KKing82

Scam Likely

State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle...
State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle"...I was confused. I pulled up all of our insurance cards, and they had the OLD vehicle insured, and not the NEW one. We had been driving the new vehicle since 2019. When I realized what happened, I asked to cancel, to move to another company, and for a refund of the premiums paid on the WRONG vehicle. That type of error, is not ok. After being bounced around from person to person, I FINALLY signed documents to have my policy cancelled, and submitted documentation to prove that we no longer had the vehicle that they wrongfully insured, in order to get a refund. TODAY, I received an UPDATED policy, with NEW premiums. I cancelled yesterday. Why am I receiving new documents, and where is the money I'm owed? Thankfully we weren't pulled over, or in any accidents during this 3 year period, but we'd like our money back. I have every email, and piece of requested documentation. This just isn't right. If this isn't resolved in a timely manner, I will be contacting an attorney.
1
July 3, 2021

Jennporter4

Don’t use State Auto

Trying to switch to someone else because we are being penalized for using our glass coverage that is INCLUDED with our policy!!!!!!!! We used it maybe twice for each vehicle once a year and they said that they considered to be “claims” and that we can’t switch because of how many claims we had aka glass repairs due to rocks hitting the windshield. Absolutely ridiculous!!!!!
1
April 10, 2021

bdom

SCAM ALERT!!!

SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! Do not even consider this company. I cancelled it a year ago, I got a confirmation from them. Yet, the kept taking money from my bank for almost a year, after the cancellation. My bank opened an investigation, and State Auto lied to them and stated that I never cancelled the insurance. Good thing, I kept the email confirming the cancellation and showed it to bank. Stay away from State Auto!
1
March 6, 2021

Daby0729

Read reviews before you purchase

Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my mo...
Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my money back. I had to threaten with a police report and BBB if they did not remove my payment information off of their website I'm still kind of worried I'm thinking of changing my debit card which is what my bank preferred me to do. Every time I contacted State Auto I was told I had to speak to an agent that I couldn't talk to them why would I have to talk to an agent when I'm talking directly to you I was told it's because he's our third party sellers it's not really State Auto insurance that's selling you the insurance these are people at home doing nothing that you are interacting with. Another thing that scared the crap out of me I can't contact the company to cancel I have to call the somebody else that I can't even get in contact with. you should be able to cancel online you should be able to remove your payment information online like every other insurance company allows you to do this is why they don't have a review button on their FB page because they're worried about reviews if you want to stateauto.com you would see them all should have read them The worst experience I've ever had with any insurance company. Be careful
1
February 23, 2021

JStou

Avoid State Auto at all cost!

State Auto is literally the most crooked Insurnace on the market. I have complete and full coverage commerical policy. I requested rental vehicle coverage. My wife slid off the road in a snow storm and State Auto didn’t cover a single thing. I’m stuck with a $9,000 bill. They refuse to actually cover anything but bodily harm. But a normal consumer policy would have covered it. Just not a commercial policy that’s 30% more expensive?!???!
1
August 20, 2020

Susan333

CRIMINALS THAT WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY

THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I ...
THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I said wait I’m in the same home I was in when I received my first policy. There response was “sorry” ARE YOU KIDDING ME PLEASE I BEG YOU DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY WILL ROB YOU ONE WAY OR ANOTHER. THE OWNERS OF THIS COMPANY ARE GREEDY PIGS. I called them once for road side service I was on the tollway with a flat tire. GUESS WHAT NO ONE EVER CAME THEY LEFT ME THERE HELPLESS WAS FORCED TO CALL A FRIEND TO HELP. If you are young or older STAY AWAY FROM THIS JOKE ~ Yeah [REDACTED NAME] it’s time for you to go broke!!!! TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE THE WORST. I’m with a new company charging acceptable rates.. BUYER BEWARE ..
1
July 8, 2020

Disapprove

State Auto is inefficient, should not be in business.

DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no fu...
DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no full coverage, we were told no change can be made over the phone, contact the agent. However immediately at 6:15 pm. they made the change ?(without my agent), because as soon as we hung up I got an email, they charged and extra $2166.88 without the agent doing any change. When I texted my agent he was astonished and didn't get to look at the policy until the next day. When the agent checked his system the coverage showed on his end but State Auto showed 'Error! We are experiencing an issue with our system and are working to resolve the issue. Please try again later. If the issue persists, please refer to the SAHelps link at the top of the screen. Internal Server error, Please contact Administrator. Code 901 Timestamp 2020-01-28T17:28:44Z;CID plozx 3660700'. My agent cancelled the policy. We have been disputing these charges for months and State Auto took me to collections and is insisting I MUST pay.
1
June 17, 2020

Apar

Horrible Insurance Provider!

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I...
WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I cancel my service my agent tells me I will get the refund for the days left refunded by check. Nope they are sending me to collections as they say they refunded me months ago and that I now owed a full month. No No No bank statements show they are incorrect but the lady they have working on it says she doesn't care what it shows I better pay or she is sending me to collections and I can say fair well to my credit score. OMG who is she! Trust me go with any other company this one sucks!
4
May 4, 2020

atiqa

Good customer service

Its a good company that offers different kind of packages of insurances. The customer service is excellent
1
March 5, 2020

action

Do not trust.

Gave estimate through pictures on an app. Appraisers set estimate at half the price of the body shop.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption