SafeAuto Auto Insurance Review: Should you buy in 2023?

SafeAuto car insurance offers specialized, inexpensive coverage for high-risk drivers struggling to find insurance. However, you might find cheaper rates with competitors like Geico and State Farm.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked
3.5
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

SafeAuto

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$93

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Affordable rates for drivers of all demographics
  • Three ways to make a SafeAuto car insurance payment
  • Sells affordable nonstandard policies
  • Diverse auto coverage options
  • Specializes in high-risk coverage
  • Multiple discounts

Cons

  • Numerous customer complaints
  • Extremely high complaint index from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
  • Mobile app has poor reviews
  • Lacks a financial stability rating from A.M. Best
  • Only sells policies in 22 states

The Bottom Line

Founded in 1993, the Safe Auto Insurance Company offers lower-than-average rates for all demographics. It gears its policies toward high-risk drivers who need an SR-22 certificate. You might need an SR-22 if you have a DUI, several moving violations, or poor credit.

SafeAuto’s headquarters is in Columbus, Ohio, though it sells auto insurance in 22 states. You can get the required insurance to drive legally in your state with SafeAuto minimum liability coverage, but consider full coverage if you have an expensive car.

If you’re a high-risk driver, always compare rates with multiple companies to ensure you get the best deal. SafeAuto isn’t for everyone, and you could find cheaper coverage at a different company, so shop around before you buy high-risk auto insurance.

Below, we’ll go over SafeAuto customer service reviews, coverage options, auto insurance rates, and more to help you decide if SafeAuto is the right high-risk car insurance company for you.

Though SafeAuto car insurance has competitive rates for high-risk drivers, its customers complain of poor customer service. In addition, other companies like Geico or State Farm offer lower rates than SafeAuto for various demographics. So, it’s vital to compare SafeAuto rates to its competitors to ensure you get the best deal.

While the company carries an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, the BBB website shows several poor customer reviews, and SafeAuto lacks a financial rating from A.M. Best.

Is Safe Auto Insurance Company a Good Choice?

SafeAuto offers lower-than-average auto insurance rates for drivers of all demographics, though the company tailors policies to high-risk individuals. Drivers requiring SR-22 coverage, like those with a DUI or multiple driving incidents, could benefit from the company’s cheap rates.

However, while it charges less than the national average, drivers can still find cheaper coverage from competitors from Geico and State Farm. Always shop around and compare your SafeAuto car insurance quote to other companies to see where you can save the most.

You should also consider another company if you want to bundle your auto insurance with homeowners, renters, health, or motorcycle insurance, since SafeAuto doesn’t offer these coverages or a bundling discount.

Be aware that SafeAuto partners with third parties to underwrite your policy. Allstate acquired SafeAuto through its subsidiary National General in 2021, and you may work with either company when filing claims or making inquiries about your policy.

While SafeAuto might be a good choice for drivers who need high-risk auto insurance coverage, we recommend comparing quotes from more reputable insurance companies if your record is clear.

SafeAuto Insurance Reviews

Its low rates might entice potential policyholders, but SafeAuto has numerous customer complaints and negative customer service reviews.

According to the NAIC, the company has a complaint index score of 7.61, meaning SafeAuto receives over seven times as many complaints as a company similar in size.

SafeAuto does not have a customer service rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), but its underwriting subsidiary National General has an A+ rating. Unfortunately, customer reviews average 1.06/5 stars, with most customers complaining of poor claims handling and slow service. Read our National General auto insurance review to learn more.

If a highly rated, user-friendly mobile app is important to you, SafeAuto might not be for you. For example, the SafeAuto app has 1.5/5 stars on the App Store and 2.5/5 stars on the Google Play Store.

Safe Auto Insurance Company Rates

Drivers of all demographics enjoy lower-than-average auto insurance rates with SafeAuto, though the company specializes in affordable coverage for high-risk drivers. However, insurance companies consider various factors when setting rates, so average rates might not reflect what you’ll actually pay.

For example, a teen driver with little experience behind the wheel will pay higher rates than a 45-year-old driver since insurers consider teenagers more likely to get in an accident and file a claim. So, compare rates based on your demographics to find the right company for your needs and budget.

Below is a list of factors most insurance companies, including SafeAuto, look at when crafting auto insurance rates:

  • Gender
  • Coverage amount
  • Age
  • Location
  • Credit score
  • Occupation
  • Car make and model
  • Driving record
  • Marital status

Below, you can view average rates to see what you might expect to pay for auto insurance based on certain demographics.

Don’t forget to compare quotes from various insurance companies to ensure you get the best deal. You won’t know exactly how much you’ll pay until you get a SafeAuto car insurance quote. Find out how much auto insurance costs.

SafeAuto Rates for Teen Drivers

Of all the demographics, teen drivers pay the highest rates for coverage with SafeAuto. However, SafeAuto teen insurance rates are 37% lower than the national average, and the company has the third-lowest rates for teens of the best auto insurance companies.

See the table below for the average SafeAuto teen car insurance rates:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Geico$312$298$254$220
State Farm$349$311$284$229
Nationwide$476$411$387$303
American Family$480$390$390$288
Allstate$638$608$519$448
Farmers$742$778$603$573
Liberty Mutual$778$716$633$528
Progressive$814$801$662$591
Travelers$897$709$729$523
National Average$610$558$496$411
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Expect to pay higher rates than other demographics if you’re a teen. For example, 16-year-old drivers pay around $380 monthly with SafeAuto, and 18 year olds pay closer to $300.

This is around 37% lower than the national average, but Geico and State Farm offer better rates for teen drivers than SafeAuto, at $312 and $349 a month, respectively. Find cheap auto insurance for teenagers.

SafeAuto Rates for Young Adult Drivers

As SafeAuto policyholders acquire more driving experience, they’ll generally notice much lower auto insurance rates, particularly after they turn 25.

Compare how much 20 year olds pay for auto insurance below:

Average Full Coverage Monthly Rates for 25-Year-Olds with the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Rates for 25-Year-Old MalesAverage Rates for 25-Year-Old Females
Allstate$190$181
Farmers$180$172
Geico$93$97
Liberty Mutual$215$188
Nationwide$150$136
Progressive$146$140
State Farm$111$100
U.S. Average$150$138
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The average 25 year old SafeAuto car insurance rates are $112 monthly, 25% lower than the national average.

Once again, though, young adult drivers can find cheaper coverage with Geico or State Farm. Geico charges $93 monthly for young adults, whereas State Farm charges $111. Find cheap auto insurance for young adults.

SafeAuto Rates for Adult Drivers

Adult drivers see some of the lowest rates of any demographic since they have years of driving experience, assuming they have a clean driving record.

Compare auto insurance rates for adult drivers below:

Monthly Full Coverage Adult Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$177$129$160$87$198$139$136$103$106$137
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$168$109$154$90$173$127$131$94$98$127
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$160$110$133$80$172$115$195$86$97$118
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$162$109$134$80$170$113$112$86$96$118
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$152$104$126$76$163$109$100$82$92$112
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$153$103$127$76$161$107$106$82$91$112
Get Your Rates Quote Now

A 45-year-old driver with a clean record can expect to pay around $93 per month for SafeAuto full coverage, which is still more than Geico and State Farm, charging $80 and $86 monthly, respectively.

SafeAuto Rates for Senior Drivers

Once drivers turn 65, insurance companies consider them at higher risk due to age-related issues like vision loss or slower reflexes. These factors make senior drivers more likely to get into an accident and file a claim.

Consider the average SafeAuto senior rates for full coverage below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Geico$74$73$78$78
State Farm$76$76$84$84
Travelers$89$88$95$94
Progressive$95$92$103$109
American Family$99$98$108$106
Nationwide$104$99$112$111
Farmers$123$115$130$131
Allstate$154$150$157$158
Liberty Mutual$158$147$169$166
National Average$108$104$115$115
Get Your Rates Quote Now

SafeAuto senior drivers pay about $95 monthly for coverage, which is $22 cheaper than the national average. While SafeAuto’s senior rates are competitive, Geico and State Farm still offer lower average rates than SafeAuto. Find cheap auto insurance for senior citizens.

SafeAuto Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Drivers who engage in high-risk driving are more likely to get into accidents and file claims. This is why drivers with a speeding ticket on their record see higher insurance rates.

See how much your auto insurance rates go up after a ticket:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$108$91
Geico$132$82
Travelers$144$107
Nationwide$156$120
American Family$180$116
Progressive$192$109
Farmers$204$140
Allstate$228$166
Liberty Mutual$240$177
National Average$156$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, SafeAuto offers competitive rates for drivers with a speeding ticket — around $111 a month for full coverage, which is over $30 cheaper than the national average. Still, other companies have cheaper rates for drivers with speeding tickets.

For example, State Farm offers the lowest speeding ticket rates, averaging $96 a month. Next on the list is Geico at around $106 monthly.

SafeAuto Rates After an Accident

Your auto insurance rates will change after an accident. Expect to pay higher rates with any company if you have an accident on your record, especially if you’re at fault.

An accident shows your insurance company you’re a risky driver, so it charges more to offset the risk to insure you. However, the extra amount you pay for insurance after an accident depends on its severity, who caused it, and how long ago the accident occurred.

Compare auto insurance rates after an accident below:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies After an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$107$91
Geico$132$82
Travelers$157$107
Nationwide$165$120
American Family$166$116
Progressive$190$109
Farmers$198$140
Liberty Mutual$236$177
Allstate$237$166
National Average$176$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can expect to pay around $131 monthly for full coverage with SafeAuto after an accident. This is 24% lower than the national average but still not the cheapest on this list — State Farm offers the cheapest post-accident rates at $102 monthly.

SafeAuto Rates After a DUI

If you’re wondering how to get auto insurance after a DUI, know that rates will be much more expensive. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs impairs your driving ability, so insurance companies charge higher rates if you have a DUI on your record.

Some insurers could deny you coverage. Fortunately, if you receive a DUI conviction, SafeAuto files the SR-22 certificate you need to get back on the road, though rates will be higher.

See how much SafeAuto charges for auto insurance after a DUI:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$124$91
Progressive$146$109
American Family$177$116
Farmers$191$140
Geico$213$82
Travelers$230$107
Nationwide$252$120
Allstate$303$166
Liberty Mutual$325$177
National Average$218$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You’ll pay around $170 monthly for full coverage with SafeAuto after a DUI. While these rates are about 19% lower than the national average, other companies have lower rates.

For example, State Farm offers the lowest average rates for drivers convicted of a DUI, about $112 monthly for full coverage. The second cheapest company after a DUI is Progressive at $140 a month.

How much is SafeAuto minimum coverage?

A minimum coverage auto insurance policy, consisting of property damage and bodily injury liability, gives drivers the coverage they need to drive legally.

Compare how much SafeAuto charges for minimum coverage to other national companies:

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
State Farm$40
Geico$50
Travelers$53
Nationwide$61
American Family$66
Progressive$69
Farmers$76
Allstate$87
Liberty Mutual$90
National Average$69
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Expect to pay about $35 monthly for minimum liability coverage with SafeAuto, roughly 22% cheaper than the national average. Once again, Geico and State Farm offer the cheapest average minimum coverage rates, at $30 and $33 a month, respectively.

A minimum coverage policy with SafeAuto is significantly cheaper than full coverage but does not cover your injuries or damages to your vehicle. Consider a full coverage auto insurance policy to better protect yourself.

How much is SafeAuto full coverage?

Full coverage auto insurance consists of minimum liability, collision, and comprehensive coverages, for full protection of your vehicle. It covers you in most instances, including auto accidents, animal collisions, weather-related events, fire, and theft or vandalism.

It costs more than liability insurance, so compare the average cost of full coverage insurance below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Geico$80
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Progressive$105
Nationwide$115
American Family$116
Farmers$138
Allstate$160
Liberty Mutual$173
National Average$119
Get Your Rates Quote Now

On average, a full coverage auto insurance policy with SafeAuto costs around $93 a month, about 22% lower than the national average of $119. Still, Geico and State Farm offer the cheapest average rates for full coverage, both charging around $80 monthly.

If you’re looking for lower rates, you can drop full coverage if your car is older, and the cost of repairs would be more than the vehicle is worth.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safe Auto Insurance Company Discounts Available

SafeAuto provides auto insurance discounts to help drivers save based on various individual factors, though its offerings are limited.

Below is a list of some of the discounts offered by SafeAuto:

  • Multi-vehicle. Insure more than one vehicle on a single policy to earn this discount.
  • New business transfer. You will earn a discount if you switch companies to buy SafeAuto insurance.
  • Homeowner. Owning a home will earn you an auto insurance discount, regardless of where you buy home insurance.

SafeAuto doesn’t list many discount options on its website. You must get a SafeAuto insurance quote to find out what discounts your policy is eligible for.

However, since SafeAuto quotes are already lower than average, drivers could find cheaper rates with SafeAuto if they qualify for several of its discounts.

How else can I save on SafeAuto insurance rates?

While SafeAuto has competitive rates and some discount options, you could still lower your rates more. Consider the following tips if you want to lower your car insurance rates:

  • Lower your deductible. Your auto insurance deductible is the amount you pay before insurance kicks in. The higher your deductible, the lower your car insurance rates will be, but you should never increase your deductible to an amount you can’t afford to pay.
  • Insure a cheap vehicle. If you want to save on your SafeAuto car insurance, purchase a cheap vehicle or one with affordable replacement parts.
  • Practice safe driving. Your car insurance company may award you lower rates if you practice safe driving, avoid accidents, and remain ticket-free.
  • Drop unnecessary coverages. If an older car depreciates in value, you could drop collision and comprehensive coverages and only carry liability.
  • Shop around. SafeAuto might not be the cheapest auto insurance for your situation. Always compare quotes from various companies to get the best deal.
  • Improve your credit. Many insurance companies look at your credit score when setting your insurance rates, SafeAuto included. If you improve your credit score, you could notice lower auto insurance rates at your next renewal.

Utilizing the tips above, locating eligible discounts, and comparing quotes is the best way to find the best deal on auto insurance coverage, no matter which company you shop with.

Does SafeAuto have a mobile app?

Yes, the SafeAuto mobile app is available to download on the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. You can pay your insurance bill, view your ID cards, file a claim, manage your policy, and chat with SafeAuto customer support 24/7.

However, the mobile app has poor reviews on both app stores. On the Apple App Store, the app has 1.5/5 stars, whereas the Google Play Store’s version has 2.5/5 stars. Many users complain of a buggy app that simply doesn’t work or isn’t user-friendly.

Safe Auto Insurance Company Coverage Options

If you’re a high-risk driver, SafeAuto can file an SR-22 certificate on your behalf. However, if you have a clean record and want add-on coverages like accident forgiveness or gap insurance, you might be better off finding a policy with another insurance company.

Though SafeAuto offers the minimum insurance coverage any driver needs to operate a vehicle legally, it also sells full coverage auto insurance consisting of liability auto insurance, collision insurance, and comprehensive insurance coverage.

While you can get standard coverage with the company, SafeAuto doesn’t offer many add-ons.

SafeAuto’s full list of car insurance coverages includes the following:

SafeAuto offers the standard coverages you need to drive legally and a limited number of optional add-ons. While the law won’t require full coverage as it does with liability, your lender will likely require full coverage to protect their investment if you have a car loan or lease.

SafeAuto ForeverCar Service Plan

Policyholders seeking additional coverage should consider SafeAuto’s ForeverCar service plan. ForeverCar is a partner of SafeAuto, and it fills in the gaps in SafeAuto’s limited policy coverage

In addition, SafeAuto drivers can get up to a 44% discount for ForeverCar’s vehicle service plans.

ForeverCar’s service plan features the following:

  • Emergency roadside assistance
  • Mechanical breakdown coverage, which begins 30 days after signing up
  • Rental car reimbursement
  • Emergency travel expense reimbursement

If you find that SafeAuto’s standard coverages don’t offer the fullest protection for your unique situation, ForeverCar could help fill the gaps.

Pay-As-You-Go Liability Insurance

Drivers in Illinois and California who might benefit from a usage-based insurance program can purchase pay-as-you-go liability insurance through SafeAuto’s partner Hugo. Pay-as-you-go liability insurance allows policyholders to only pay for insurance on the days they drive.

Offered in packages of 3, 7, 14, or 30 days, SafeAuto drivers enrolled in the program can enable and disable coverage via text message or mobile app.

What other insurance coverages does SafeAuto offer?

SafeAuto offers other insurance types through third-party companies. Some coverages the company indirectly sells include:

  • Health insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Dental insurance
  • Business insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Accident insurance

While SafeAuto doesn’t underwrite its policies, you can still find other coverage through some of its partners. However, you won’t be able to get an auto insurance bundling discount for doing so.

The Final Word on SafeAuto Car Insurance

Though SafeAuto car insurance has competitive rates for high-risk drivers, its customers complain of poor customer service. In addition, other companies like Geico or State Farm offer lower rates than SafeAuto for various demographics. So, it’s vital to compare SafeAuto rates to its competitors to ensure you get the best deal.

While the company carries an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, the BBB website shows several poor customer reviews, and SafeAuto lacks a financial rating from A.M. Best.

To stand apart from its competitors, SafeAuto offers pay-as-you-go liability insurance in Illinois and California, allowing policyholders to turn coverage on and off. Customers can buy this insurance in increments of 3, 7, 14, or 30 days.

Unfortunately, the company doesn’t underwrite insurance policies besides auto, so policyholders won’t have the chance to get a bundling discount. In addition, its list of available auto insurance discounts is limited.

However, if you believe SafeAuto could be a good fit for your needs and budget, get a SafeAuto car insurance quote to know for sure. High-risk drivers who need to file SR-22 or can’t find coverage elsewhere can buy auto insurance with SafeAuto.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get an auto insurance quote from SafeAuto?

There are various ways for shoppers to get a car insurance quote from SafeAuto, including the following:

  • Using the company’s online quote form
  • Through the SafeAuto app, even if you’re a non-customer
  • Calling SafeAuto customer service at 1-800-723-3288

Getting a quote with SafeAuto is easy, and the company offers several ways to do it.

What U.S. states sell SafeAuto car insurance?

SafeAuto car insurance isn’t available nationwide. You’ll only find coverage in 22 U.S. states.

You can get a SafeAuto car insurance policy in the following states: Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

How can I file a SafeAuto claim?

Like getting an insurance quote, SafeAuto offers many ways for customers to file an auto insurance claim if they get involved in a collision or other incident.

You can file a claim with SafeAuto by:

  • Accessing your online SafeAuto account
  • Visiting the company’s page called “report a claim,” where login isn’t required
  • Calling the SafeAuto insurance claims department’s phone number at 1-800-SAFE-AUTO or 614-944-7929
  • Using the SafeAuto insurance mobile app to connect with the claims department, which is open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on weekdays and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekends
  • Mailing necessary documents to SafeAuto at P.O. Box 182384, Columbus, Ohio, 43218-2384

Filing a claim doesn’t have to be difficult. With SafeAuto, you can choose how you want to file a claim.

In what ways can I pay my SafeAuto car insurance premium?

There are three ways to make a SafeAuto car insurance payment — you can pay online through the company’s website or mobile app, by phone, or by mail. Customers can choose to pay with credit cards, debit cards, checks, or money orders.

In addition, SafeAuto allows policyholders to enroll in automatic payments (AutoPay) to avoid missing any bills, though it doesn’t offer an AutoPay discount.

Are rental cars covered under a SafeAuto car insurance policy?

Yes, your SafeAuto car insurance covers rental cars. SafeAuto drivers who opt for rental reimbursement coverage can also get paid for a rental car while their own is in the shop for covered repairs, or policyholders can use their daily rental limit for ridesharing services.

How do I cancel my SafeAuto insurance policy?

You can cancel SafeAuto car insurance by calling or mailing the company with your policy’s end date. While SafeAuto charges a $25 fee for cancellation, you could get refunded for some of your policy rates.

Can you get roadside assistance with SafeAuto?

Yes, you can get a roadside assistance policy with SafeAuto. SafeAuto’s roadside assistance includes towing, winching, flat tire changes, dead battery jump starts, lock-out services, gas delivery, and labor. However, you’ll pay extra for this coverage, so ensure you need it before you buy roadside assistance.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Safe Auto Insurance Company

3.54 (403 reviews)
1
June 24, 2022

UNHAPPYasH3ll

-10 ✨ needed

WORST customer service EVER experienced. Put a claim in three weeks ago-was told I do not get to choose where I take my car for an estimate, despite the Indiana law that states otherwise, then was asked to "release" my vehicle to an undisclosed location....because that seems legit? When I would not allow them to remove my car from the current body shop that it was at, they simply refused to do anything. Due to them not doing anything with my cla...
WORST customer service EVER experienced. Put a claim in three weeks ago-was told I do not get to choose where I take my car for an estimate, despite the Indiana law that states otherwise, then was asked to "release" my vehicle to an undisclosed location....because that seems legit? When I would not allow them to remove my car from the current body shop that it was at, they simply refused to do anything. Due to them not doing anything with my claim, I gave in after a week. A week of them REFUSING to go to the body shop it was at and look at it. They tow the car, and don't tell me where they've taken it. After trying for two days, I finally reach 'my assigned agent', who tells me it's at a salvage yard....yet I've been given no information as to what the damage has come to from them. It's been taken to salvage, even though not one time have I been told the car is totaled.... Filed my claim on the 6th of June, 18 days later, I have no further information. Oh, and when they were asked for 2 weeks straight to send a certificate of compliance to the BMV, I was actually told BY a supervisor that it was MY fault that it wasn't recieved by the BMV, because I did not provide accurate information....SO if you want to make monthly payments to be treated like dirt, THIS IS YOUR GO TO! THEY WILL NOT disappoint in that area. In fact that is one thing I promise you they EXCELL IN! They truly go the extra mile to let you know how much money you've wasted, and how very little they care whether or not they are providing good service. Highly recommend if you desire EXTREME frustration in your life, or just blatant disrespect in general!!!
1
February 28, 2021

tttt10

Horrible company

Canceled insurance waiting for refund check. Over a month later. Called to verify address had the correct one.
5
January 17, 2021

TRE21

Affordable car insurance

They're affordable and send frequent reminders of your bills due date. Safe Auto keeps you safe for less!
5
January 17, 2021

Bonza

Great company

Great company, good customer service and answer the phones properly and good rates. I would recommend them to anyone searching.
5
January 5, 2021

Tarza

Really good company

I have been with Safe Auto for about 5 years and have never had a problem. The customer support is great! Really good company.
1
November 5, 2020

rstriegel

Stay Away From Safeauto Insurance Company

I chose Safteauto after my insurance rate went through the roof. I signed up for insurance based on the rate and the coverage. They accepted my application. I cancelled my other coverage. When I received my insurance packet, the rate was much higher than the quote. This is a bait and switch insurance company in my opinion. I found auto insurance through Progressive that is 1/2 the cost. I called Safeauto and cancelled the policy. Shortly afte...
I chose Safteauto after my insurance rate went through the roof. I signed up for insurance based on the rate and the coverage. They accepted my application. I cancelled my other coverage. When I received my insurance packet, the rate was much higher than the quote. This is a bait and switch insurance company in my opinion. I found auto insurance through Progressive that is 1/2 the cost. I called Safeauto and cancelled the policy. Shortly afterwards I received a bill for $37, a "cancellation fee". Consumer be warned...this is not a company to select for your insurance needs...in my opinion.
4
October 17, 2020

catehartman

Good for SR-22

When I needed SR-22 insurance they were the cheapest place I could find. The rates were decent at the time.
5
October 8, 2020

Tabycat1113

Great company for new drivers

I like this company because they give you the very basic requirements for your states so you spend less, they don't care about credit scores, and they have a very understanding team that helps when you have issues, I recommend them to all new drivers.
1
June 12, 2020

Jayb30853

Problems with company

I felt they didn't hold up their end of the agreement. I had some problems with them. When I went to call them I was put on hold for a very very long time and once a representative answers I was given no respect for being a customer. They seemed to be very annoyed because of my calling and the issue was not resolved. I ended up cancelling with them shortly after the phone conversation.
5
May 4, 2020

lisagaetano13

Safe auto a safe decision

I was amazed at how much lower the payments are than other companies I shopped.the phone agent was excellent and very helpful
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption