The Hartford Auto Insurance Review for 2023

The Hartford partners with AARP to offer affordable auto insurance for seniors averaging $125 monthly for full coverage.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Sr. Director of Content Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hartford

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$113

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • High customer satisfaction ratings with all of the experts
  • Offers specialty insurance and benefits to seniors
  • Agents are available 24/7 by phone and online

Cons

  • Not the best choice for those under 50
  • Rates are a little above average
  • Customers complain of delays in claims payments

The Bottom Line

The Hartford auto insurance company specializes in policies for senior drivers, but drivers under 50 might want to shop elsewhere.

The average monthly premium for a 50-year-old male is $124.75 with The Hartford, only $10 higher than the national average. The company offers all major car insurance coverage options with special incentives for seniors.

One unique program offered through AARP is RecoverCare. RecoverCare helps aid seniors after a car accident by helping with daily chores or household tasks for up to six months following an accident.

The company’s interactive website and mobile app help policyholders pay bills, get quotes, and file claims. The Hartford also offers home, business, and flood insurance through AARP.

You should get quotes from at least three different insurance companies before deciding on auto insurance. You never know which company is the right fit for you until you shop around.

If you’re 50 years or older, AARP’s auto insurance partner, The Hartford, could be an excellent option for you. The company is best known for providing various coverage options, discounts, and special benefits to seniors.

The Hartford’s auto insurance rates are very close to the national average, and coverage is available in every state, including Washington, D.C.

Non-AARP members can also purchase insurance from The Hartford, but some special programs are only available to AARP members, like the Advantage and Advantage Plus programs. The Hartford also offers a unique RecoverCare program that aids seniors in daily tasks they can’t do independently due to a car accident.

The Hartford car insurance also has minimal complaints compared to other insurance companies of the same size. Agents are available 24/7 to assist customers.

Keep reading to learn more about The Hartford insurance company and to see if this insurer is a good fit for you or someone you know.

Is The Hartford a Good Choice?

The Hartford ranks high among experts, including J.D. Power and the Better Business Bureau.

According to J.D. Power, The Hartford has above-average scores in every category, including claims servicing. The Hartford earned a score of 833 out of 1,000, which is above the industry average. In addition, J.D. Power gave the company four out of five stars in every category in its studies.

The Hartford also receives fewer customer complaints than other companies its size. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) scores companies by measuring the complaint index relative to the national median of 1.00. The Hartford scored 0.36 with NAIC, which is way below the national average.

A.M. Best also gave The Hartford an A+ (superior) rating on its financial strength, meaning the company has solid financial stability and is more than capable of paying out claims to its customers.

The negative complaints about the company focused on poor customer service, high rates, and delays in claim payments.

What are the pros and cons of The Hartford car insurance?

Like any company, The Hartford has positives and negatives. The Hartford has pretty good ratings overall, and customers seem satisfied overall.

The biggest pros for The Hartford insurance are:

  • High customer satisfaction ratings with all of the experts
  • Offers specialty insurance and benefits to seniors
  • Agents are available 24/7 by phone and online

You’ll see in the section below that The Hartford has very good ratings from customers and several auto insurance coverages. The company also boasts an interactive website and mobile app to help policyholders get quotes, pay bills, and file claims.

In contrast, let’s look at the cons of The Hartford:

  • Not the best choice for those under 50
  • Rates are a little above average
  • Customers complain of delays in claims payments

The Hartford designs its policies as auto insurance for older adults, so drivers in their mid-30s will probably find better coverage elsewhere. In addition, rates are often slightly above average, and some customers complain of claims taking a long time to pay out.

For the most part, The Hartford is a good insurance company and a great option for those 50 and older.

The Hartford Rates

The Hartford has competitive prices, and rates stay around the national average in most categories. The company’s average monthly rate is $124.75, around $1,497 annually. This data considers a 50-year-old male with a clean driving record and full coverage.

While you can get an average of how much you might pay for car insurance with The Hartford, several factors will impact your rate. Most insurance companies consider specific factors when determining a driver’s premium.

With The Hartford, you can expect the following factors to impact your overall rates:

  • Age
  • ZIP code
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Car make and model
  • Desired coverage

You should get a direct quote from The Hartford if you’re curious about how much you would pay for car insurance with the company. Still, you can use averages to understand better how much a car insurance policy with The Hartford would cost.

Below, we detail how you can expect your rates to fluctuate depending on different circumstances.

How much is The Hartford by coverage?

Many drivers, especially people who owe money on their vehicles or have newer cars, choose a full coverage policy, including liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage, to ensure their vehicle stays protected.

If you want full vehicle coverage, compare The Hartford quotes to ensure you don’t pay too much. The national average for full coverage is $114 per month. So rates with The Hartford aren’t much more expensive than most companies.

Look at the table below to get an idea of how much insurers charge on average for coverage.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Company
Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Rates
Geico$117
Progressive$126
American Family$159
Farmers$167
The Hartford$189

The average cost for minimum liability car insurance coverage with The Hartford is $62 per month, compared to the national average of $54.

Geico and Progressive offer some of the most affordable rates in both categories, while Allstate and State Farm have the most expensive coverage.

There are many factors that insurance companies consider when setting rates. As mentioned above, age, driving history, and credit score shape car insurance rates.

How much is The Hartford by age?

This company caters to seniors specifically, so its rates for senior drivers will be competitive.

A 60-year-old female with The Hartford pays $119 per month on average. To compare, these women pay $139 per month with Allstate.

Check out the chart below to see the benefits offered to seniors by The Hartford.

Perks for Seniors with The Hartford Auto Insurance
Perks for Seniors
Offers affordable insurance for AARP members
RecoverCare helps aid seniors with daily tasks after a car accident
Offers lifetime renewability so seniors won't be denied coverage as they age
Offers a wide range of discounts

Even though The Hartford specializes in senior auto insurance, it still offers insurance to teenagers. The average rate for teenagers with The Hartford is $304 per month, which is cheaper than the national average of $349 per month.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
The Hartford$577$552$469$407
Geico$312$298$254$220
State Farm$349$311$284$229
Nationwide$476$411$387$303
American Family$480$390$390$288
Allstate$638$608$519$448
Farmers$742$778$603$573
Liberty Mutual$778$716$633$528
Progressive$814$801$662$591
Travelers$897$709$729$523
National Average$610$558$496$411

The table below shows what benefits are available to young student drivers.

Auto Insurance Discounts Available to Students from The Hartford
Discount OfferedPercent Savings Avialable
Distant Student3%
Driver's Ed3%
Good Student% varies
Occupatiion10%

Drivers between the ages of 35 and 50 pay the lowest price for car insurance. Look at the table below to get an idea of what discounts The Hartford has for the average adult.

Common Auto Insurance Discounts Offered by The Hartford
Discount OfferedPercent Savings Available
Claim Free% varies
Continuous Coverage% varies
Defensive Driver10%
Low Mileage% varies
Multiple Vehicles5%

Alongside age, past driving history is another significant factor in determining a driver’s car insurance premium.

How much is The Hartford by driving history?

Drivers with tickets on their record or multiple accidents are considered high-risk drivers. Insurance companies charge more for insurance with high-risk drivers since these people are more likely to file a claim.

Receiving just one speeding ticket can raise your rates with The Hartford to $190 per month or $2,283 per year. The national average is around $156 per month.

Look at the table below to see how much other top insurance companies raise rates after different types of traffic infractions.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with an AccidentRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Liberty Mutual$325$236$217$177
Allstate$303$237$195$166
Farmers$191$198$176$140
The Hartford$167$165$136$133
Average$218$176$1,818$123
Nationwide$252$165$145$120
American Family$177$166$131$116
Progressive$146$190$143$109
Travelers$230$157$148$107
State Farm$124$107$102$91
Geico$213$132$107$82

You may see an even larger rate increase if you’ve caused an accident while driving. If you’re at fault in an accident and don’t have accident forgiveness, your rates can increase by 20%.

It isn’t surprising that drivers see the largest rate increase if they receive a DUI charge since they’re especially high-risk. Some insurance companies won’t even provide car insurance to these drivers.

You can see how it pays to keep a clean driving record. Insurance companies like to see drivers with no negative marks on their driving records before offering them the best prices.

How much is The Hartford insurance by credit score?

Another determining factor for your car insurance premium is your credit score. Not all insurance companies consider your credit score, but many do. A good credit score shows the insurer that you have a history of paying your bills on time and are less likely to file a claim.

You can compare rates with the top insurance companies by credit score in the chart below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Geico$148$100$82
Nationwide$165$132$120
Travelers$194$127$107
State Farm$200$117$90
American Family$203$136$116
Progressive$206$137$109
Farmers$269$161$139
Allstate$296$196$166
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
National Average$226$148$123

Across most driver profiles, The Hartford is typically cheaper than Allstate and State Farm auto insurance. On the other hand, The Hartford has more expensive rates than Progressive and Geico auto insurance.

We always recommend that you get quotes from at least three different insurance companies when shopping for auto insurance. Every driver is unique, and you never know what you’ll pay with each company until you get a quote.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hartford Discounts Available

AARP offers a wide range of auto insurance discounts through The Hartford. Customers won’t have a problem finding one or multiple discounts for lower rates.

Below is a list of discounts The Hartford offers:

  • Bundling insurance policies
  • Driving a hybrid vehicle
  • Air bag and anti-lock brakes discount
  • Anti-theft discount
  • Multi-vehicle policy
  • New vehicle discount
  • Home ownership
  • Paid-in-full
  • Student away-from-home discount

Some of these discounts can save you up to 20% on your auto insurance.

For example, The Hartford offers a 5%-15% discount if you have certain anti-theft devices on your vehicle. You can save 10%-20% if you install the proper air bag.

Another discount AARP offers is its defensive driving program, the AARP Smart Driver Course. Drivers have 60 days to complete the online course, which allows them to apply for discounts for the next 36 months.

Not all discounts will be available in your area, so speak with a company representative to find out which may apply to you. Not all discounts will be available in your area, so make sure you speak with an insurance agent to find out which may apply to you.

The Hartford Coverage Options

When shopping for auto insurance, it’s important to understand the difference between the most common types of auto insurance and what’s right for you. Through its partnership with AARP, Hartford offers all common car insurance options, from liability insurance to full coverage.

Most states require minimum liability insurance before drivers can get on the road. For added protection, you can add full coverage auto insurance that includes collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist coverage.

Check out the most common auto insurance coverage options below and what they mean:

In addition, AARP adds other features to most of its policies, specifically for seniors. One of these features is the RecoverCare program.

What is the RecoverCare program?

RecoverCare helps aid seniors after a car accident by helping with daily chores or household tasks that are now difficult because of the accident. Depending on your location and policy, seniors can often use RecoverCare for up to six months or until they spend up to $2,500.

These daily tasks include transportation, food preparation, cleaning, lawn mowing, and dog walking. This program is incredibly popular because of the huge burden it takes off of seniors and their caretakers.

What other options are available through The Hartford?

There are other notable options offered by The Hartford, including:

  • New car replacement. This protection will replace a new vehicle with less than 15,000 miles if you total it within the first 15 months.
  • Accident forgiveness. Drivers won’t see an increase in their rates after an accident if they’ve gone five years with a clean driving record.
  • Disappearing deductibles. Drivers with clean records may see their deductible decrease to $0 after years without an accident.
  • Legal assistance. AARP also offers legal assistance to its customers.

As you can see, The Hartford doesn’t lack coverage options. Customers have all of the basic car insurance options and specialized programs fit for seniors. You’ll have no problem finding the coverage you need with The Hartford.

What other programs does The Hartford offer?

A unique program offered by The Hartford is the Advantage Program. This exclusive program offers additional benefits, including lifetime renewability, 12-month auto insurance rate protection, RecoverCare, lifetime car repair assurance, and more.

Lifetime renewability and 12-month rate protection make it easy for policyholders to renew with The Hartford. Unlike most insurance companies, the Hartford locks in rates for a full year instead of six months.

So customers can feel secure knowing their rates won’t increase if their driving and payment history remain in good standing. They also won’t be denied coverage with The Hartford.

Advantage Plus Program

In addition, The Hartford offers an Advantage Plus Program. This program offers everything listed above plus the following:

  • Accident forgiveness
  • Vanishing deductible
  • One deductible
  • Deductible waived

Through the Advantage Program and the Advantage Plus Program, team members are available to assist you day and night through a 24/7 claims hotline.

What online auto insurance tools does The Hartford have?

The Hartford has an outstanding online presence and offers several support tools through its website. The Hartford’s website has a rate calculator where drivers can provide information such as ZIP code, age, credit score, etc. to get a custom quote.

Customers can also pay their bills online and file claims. You can also track the status of a current claim on the website.

The Hartford’s mobile app is also very user-friendly. Policyholders can pay bills, view account details, request roadside assistance, and manage claims all through The Hartford’s mobile app.

How do I file a car insurance claim with The Hartford?

As mentioned above, drivers can file a claim through the company website and mobile app, making it easy to document an accident and initiate the claims process immediately.

For a more personal experience, you can always file a claim over the phone. Agents are available 24/7 to help.

However, the few customer complaints we found mentioned extra long wait times for claims processing.

What other insurance products does The Hartford sell?

Besides auto insurance, The Hartford offers several other insurance products. You can bundle your auto insurance with other policies for the biggest discounts.

Other insurance products offered by The Hartford include:

  • Homeowners insurance. Pays for home damages, personal property damages, and temporary living expenses if your home is inhabitable.
  • Renters insurance. Protects belongings in a rental from incidents such as fire, theft, and storms. This policy includes liability claims, living expenses, property damage, and medical payments.
  • Umbrella insurance. Additional coverage options for specific situations and claims that exceed the limits of your existing insurance coverage.
  • Condo insurance. Protects you from personal property loss, personal liability, and any other expenses related to your condominium. This coverage is customizable based on your needs and budget.
  • Flood insurance. AARP stands out by offering flood insurance, while most insurers don’t.
  • Business insurance. Protects you from business-related losses. It also covers lost wages for employees with work-related illnesses or injuries.

As you can see, AARP and The Hartford offer just about every type of insurance you could want.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is The Hartford/AARP a good insurer for me?

The Hartford is a good insurer for you if you’re 50 or older. The company offers plenty of coverage options and average prices. It also has good reviews from all the industry’s top experts.

How much is The Hartford/AARP car insurance?

The Hartford’s monthly average rate is $124.75, just $10 more a month than the national average. The Hartford matches up pretty evenly with the national average in most categories.

Is The Hartford the same as AARP?

The Hartford partners with AARP as its car insurance company. It offers additional products to AARP members.

Is car insurance with AARP available to everyone?

Yes, but it caters to people over 50. AARP members get an additional discount, but you don’t have to be a member to purchase a car insurance policy.

Where is The Hartford insurance available?

The Hartford sells car insurance in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. The company headquarters is in Hartford, Connecticut.

Can I get an online quote from The Hartford?

Yes, The Hartford offers free quotes on its website and by phone: 1-888-413-8970. Agents are available 24/7.

How can I file a claim with The Hartford?

You can file a claim with The Hartford through its website, mobile app, or an agent.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Sr. Director of Content Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for The Hartford

4.13 (764 reviews)
5
January 11, 2021

lw1999

Black Ice Warning

It was z cold winter night and the streets were still wet from the rain earlier that day. I pulled up to a stop light that was red and pushed on my brake to stop when I hit a patch of black ice. I attempted to jump the curb to avoid hitting the car in front of me, but did not quite make it and that led to a fender bender. The damage was not severe, but bad enough for it to require that I contact my insurance company to have them pay the claim fro...
It was z cold winter night and the streets were still wet from the rain earlier that day. I pulled up to a stop light that was red and pushed on my brake to stop when I hit a patch of black ice. I attempted to jump the curb to avoid hitting the car in front of me, but did not quite make it and that led to a fender bender. The damage was not severe, but bad enough for it to require that I contact my insurance company to have them pay the claim from the driver that I hit. Once I gave them all the information about how it happened, the agent took it all from there and I was done. I was very satisifed and have never even considered swithching because it was all handle so professionally.
4
July 14, 2020

pearly

Better Deal

I pay less money through The Hartford insurance company than i would else where, i get all the good discounts and even the discounts through AARP.
5
March 26, 2020

MamaG2

A good relationship

I have been a customer of The Hartford for approximately 6 years now. I am very happy with their customer service and have not had any problems communicating with them. Their prices are competitive with other insurance carriers.
3
March 19, 2020

alyssa111

Hmm

The company is very on top of their work, sometimes to the point of annoyance, and has recently raised my rates even though I am a student who does not drive often, and has good grades, which typically results in a lowered rate. This is annoying for someone who does not even get their moneys worth of the price of insurance
5
March 1, 2020

posh52

good company

very good and low cost very efficient well established company to do business with, good reviews,low prices been around for many years a service you can count on never drops you like other companies out there that do and very fair prices
5
February 5, 2020

Cacl1950

The Hartford Insurance Company

This is a great company to do business. We have had insurance with them for years and never had a problem. They are quick to help you out if you have a problem with anything that happens. They had our windshield fixed in less than 24 hours several times for us.
5
January 31, 2020

liver

good customer service and wonderful experience

The Hartford is very professional and knowledge. We have has nothing but very good service, if we had questions regarding our policy, we have gotten honest answers and they always look over the policy to see if they can save us money.
5
August 20, 2019

Gospel63

wonderful company

This is a wonderful insurance company I have been with them for over 10 years and would not change they have always been there when I really needed them I rate them at 10
5
August 19, 2019

Billie16

An Honest Insurance Company

This company is very fair and honest. I have had one claim with them that was taken care of quickly. Their bills are always accurate and on time. They even take the money out of my checking account so I don't need to bother sending them a check every month. What impressed me the most, however, was that THEY notified me when my rates went down. I never would have noticed!
1
August 18, 2019

Snow55

Incident with The Hartford

Had insurance with them for 10 years with no accident, tickets or claims. Payed extra for full glass coverage Someone broke tha driver's side window on 5 cars parked in a row. Mine was one of them. Made the claim and got the window repaired. When my insurance renewal bill came, my rate had gone up by a large amount. When I called to see why, they said because I had an incident. They were referring to the window I explained that I thought that...
Had insurance with them for 10 years with no accident, tickets or claims. Payed extra for full glass coverage Someone broke tha driver's side window on 5 cars parked in a row. Mine was one of them. Made the claim and got the window repaired. When my insurance renewal bill came, my rate had gone up by a large amount. When I called to see why, they said because I had an incident. They were referring to the window I explained that I thought that's what the extra charge for full glass replacement was for, but was told that my insurance would be this new price regardless. Needless to say I cancelled them.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption